Preston North End’s trophy history is rich with early success at Deepdale since being formed in 1880. All four professional leagues are also on the list of how many titles they have won.

The Lancashire team have also enjoyed success multiple times in three divisions throughout Preston North End’s club history. But the Lilywhites have not lifted a top-flight title in more than 130 years. The Deepdale natives have not claimed a major cup in over 55 years, either.

Preston North End emerged as one of England’s finest clubs when organised league football began in 1888. Cup trophies would also soon follow and continued throughout with a raft of Preston North End legends adding to the list of how many titles the club have won to date…

Preston North End v Swansea City - Sky Bet Championship
Photo by Chris Brunskill/Getty Images

Preston North End have won the top-flight once

The start of organised league football in England in 1888 saw the Lilywhites emerge as the dominant force. Deepdale bared witness to the first two titles as Preston North End kicked off the club’s trophy history in style. They have finished as the runners-up in six terms since.

Preston North End’s dominance in 1888/89 further extended to the club becoming the first Invincibles. They went the first season of organised league football unbeaten with 18 wins and four draws. Only Arsenal in 2003/04 have yet matched the Lilywhites’ accomplishment.

List of Preston North End’s top-flight trophies:

1888/89 (Football League)


Preston North End also became the third club in England to win the title in all four divisions of league football in 1996. The Lilywhites followed Wolverhampton Wanderers in 1988 and local rivals Burnley in 1992. Sheffield United and Portsmouth also later followed suit during 2017.

List of Preston North End’s other league titles:

Tom Finney, David Moyes
Picture by Paul Broadrick. Mandatory Credit: Allsport UK /Allsport via Getty Images

1903/04 (English Football League, Second Division)



1970/71 (English Football League, Third Division)


1995/96 (English Football League, Third Division – fourth tier)

Additionally, Preston North End have gained promotion by lifting a play-off trophy during the club’s rich history. They have also climbed up the leagues as the runners-up several times.

List of Preston North End’s play-off trophies:

Swindon Town v Preston North End - Sky Bet League One Playoff Final
Photo by Carl Court/Getty Images

2014/15 (English Football League, League One – third tier)

List of Preston North End’s promotions as runners-up:

1914/15 (English Football League, Second Division)


1986/87 (English Football League, Fourth Division)

Preston North End have won the FA Cup twice

Victory Lap
Photo by Keystone/Hulton Archive/Getty Images

Preston North End first played in the FA Cup in 1883/84 and made their first final in 1887/88. West Bromwich Albion had the Lilywhites’ number with a 2-1 win at the Kennington Oval in 1888. But Preston returned one year later and beat Wolves 3-0 to secure a domestic double.

List of Preston North End’s FA Cup trophies:

1888/89 (beat Wolverhampton Wanderers 3-0 in the final)

1937/38 (beat Huddersfield Town 1-0 in the final)

The Lilywhites have also won several lesser trophies

Along with the major titles that feature on the list of trophies Preston North End have won, the club’s trophy history also features several lesser titles. The Lilywhites are one of the five outright winners of the Football League War Cup. It was played six times throughout WWII.

List of Preston North End’s other trophies:

1941 (Football League War Cup, beat Arsenal 2-1 in a replay of the final)

1886/87 (Lancashire Senior Cup, beat Bolton Wanderers 3-0 in the final)

1892/93 (beat Bolton Wanderers 2-0 in the final)

1894/95 (beat Everton 2-0 in the final)

1899/1900 (beat Burnley 1-0 in the final)

*1938/39 (joint winners with Bolton Wanderers)