Preston may not be the biggest name in English football right now, but North End are a hugthe game’s history in this country.

Sadly, North End have never played in the Premier League; hopefully that comes in the near future.

Still, Preston were a top-flight club for many years, and you only have to look at the honours list to see how successful North End have been.

Tom Finney, David Moyes
29 Apr 2000: Tom Finney (L) and Preston North End manager David Moyes (C) lift the Division Two trophy after the Nationwide League Division Two ma…


The Lilywhites won two First Division titles, coming back to back in 1889 and 1890. With three second-tier titles, two third-tier titles and one fourth-tier title, Preston are one of few clubs who can say they have won every tier of English football.

In Cup competitions, Preston have won two FA Cups – in 1889 and 1938 – with smaller wins of The Football League Cup in 1941 and six Lancashire Senior Cups.

Many of these were a long, long time ago, so what is the last trophy Preston managed to win?

Technically, it’s the trophy for winning promotion to the Championship in 2015, having beaten Swindon Town 4-0 in the League One play-off final at Wembley Stadium.

Photo by Carl Court/Getty Images

Preston finally broke a miserable run of play-off defeats with that victory, with Tom Clarke and John Welsh lifting the trophy aloft.

In terms of a league title win, you have to go back to winning the third-tier – then the ‘Second Division’ – in 2000, with David Moyes and Sean Gregan leading the celebrations.

We’ll all be hoping to see the trophy cabinet grow in the coming years, starting with one for promotion to the Premier League…

Related Topics

Have something to tell us about this article?
Let us know